Saying Goodbye to Begin Fresh

January 1, 2013: *deep breath.*

I love this space. I came into the blogging community quite unwillingly, but have become so at home here, I’m not sure why I ever fussed about it.

IMG_9942dreamy scp blog

There was never really a purpose to this. There’s never really been a theme. It’s always just been whatever is going on in my life at that time.

We got a baby.

He went to school. They made me a room mom.

I’ve had a LOT of peculiar ailments.

I’ve tried to be healthier.

I’ve ranted and sworn. A lot.

I’ve psychocrafted.

A tree fell on my house.

I read once that when a television show goes on the air, the producers plan for 5 seasons. There’s really not much more story to tell than that. I’ve been here for more than six years. I’m out of bourbon-soaked ranty material. I mean, I can still come up with a good rant, just ask anyone who lives in this house, but I feel played out.

I’ve been reading a lot about living a life with intention. I know, I hate it when people say things like that. It sounds all deprivation tank meditation and uncooked food diet. But I don’t know how else to say it because I also hate the notion of “trying to live to be happy” because happiness is such a vapid thing. Instead, I want to focus on contentment, meaningful work and play, being present in each moment and trying not run around from one thing to the next like my hair is on fire. And while I adore what this blog has been for me as an outlet, it’s also another item on my to-do list.

I want my home to be one of joy and laughter and contentment. That means I must become that kind of person: joyful and content. I must worry less about blog postings and be more intentional and deliberate about other things.

So… this is the end for Damn you, Little Rock. You’ve been an amazing blog. I’m so proud of you. If you were a person, I’d give you a savings bond now. (In case you’re wondering, I’m not giving up this domain. It will sit here quietly in archive should you wish to visit. Although I’m not sure why you would want to.)

What’s next? Drink, Sleep and Be Kerri!

KJC Banner2

I’ll be there with less frequent posts. Hopefully, I’ll be producing quality over quantity. It will still be me: offbeat, irreverent and occasionally thoughtful. I hope to be a little less raw and a little more contemplative. I think my family needs that.

It is my most sincere wish that above all things, I’ve made you laugh. I intend to keep doing just that, in a slightly different way, going forward.

May 2013 bring genuine joy and blessings to you all!

~Kerri

5 Comments

Filed under The view from here

5 responses to “Saying Goodbye to Begin Fresh

  1. Kellie

    May you find the joy and contentment you seek Kerri!

  2. Mary Tanner

    Kerri, it has been a joy to read your blog. You have made me chuckle, wince, sigh and think. You have an incredible gift with words. I wait with anticipation to see how God continues to use you and your sweet family.

  3. I am so excited for you Kerri! I went through a similar bloggy transition. 🙂

  4. Will miss this blog, but I’m sure the new phase will be even better!

  5. RMJ

    The very best to you Kerri. I say good for you.