The Elf on the Shelf is Creepy

Elf on the ShelfThis morning when the Monkey got out of the car, I yelled, “Santa is watching!” Because I’m shameless like that. Don’t judge me. You totally do the same things.

Several of my friends are using Elf on the Shelf. I don’t. I don’t for only one reason: I’m afraid of him. I think it’s the eyes, but whatever it is, I’m pretty sure that creepy little thing would murder me in my sleep. I also think clowns are scary as all get out.

I believe you when you say it’s a great discipline tool. I believe you when you say it’s fun for your kids. I believe you when you tell me adorable tales of shenanigans.

But one day, some teenager will murder his parents. When they interview him, they will trace it all back to the Elf on the Shelf. And I’ll totally believe that too.

Merry Christmas!

5 Comments

Filed under The view from here

5 responses to “The Elf on the Shelf is Creepy

  1. I completely agree. That thing creeps me the f**k out. My boyfriend and I have banned it from our house from the get go, children or no children. We’ll stick to our Bear Searches for Christmas Everywhere advent calendar, thankyouverymuch!

  2. Melanie Buchanan

    I couldn’t agree more. Just the idea of this little red man watching my kids all the time, hiding in their cereal boxes, hitting on their dolls–creepy.

  3. I don’t care if my kid never believes in Santa, but even if I did I would never want that creepy bastard in my house.

  4. LOL I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels like this!

  5. Pingback: My Stalker is Playing Dirty | Damn You, Little Rock