This and That and Something Else

This!

art compliments of Jerusalem Greer

I came across this piece by Nadia Bolz Weber: I love Jesus, but I Swear a Little. While I’m not clergy, all I could think the whole time I was reading was, This! is exactly what I’ve felt for so long. Of course, in my case, I swear a lot.

It’s not really about the cuss words, it’s about being genuine in a culture that doesn’t really allow for that sometimes…especially not from women. Christian women are supposed to be nice. Southern Christian women are supposed to be extremely sticky, sweet. I’m not. Sometimes this causes problems, like the kind of problems that make me want to pull my hair out.

I’m not really that nice (but I hope that I am kind). I’m just trying to figure out what it looks like to confess the truth about being deeply faithful and deeply flawed at the same time – and how to have humility in all of it without being self-apologetic.

Because, I seriously love Jesus, but I DO swear a little.

That.

My friend Andrea is the second of seven sisters. I’ve had the chance to meet in person her older sister, Alice. I like both Alice and Andrea quite a bit. I’ve thought for a while I’d probably enjoy the rest of the sisters if I ever had the chance to get to know them.

I’ve now met the other five online. The seven girls have started a blog. It’s appropriately named: 7girlsnoboys. I enjoy it. You might too. So there’s that.

Something Else.

Oriental Trading Company

I decided this year I’m going to try not to hate Christmas so much. I have no idea if it will work or not, but here’s the plan: I’m going to complete all of the Christmas “chores” so that the last thing I do is mail my cards on December 1, instead of the first. Then, I can spend the weeks leading up to Christmas doing fun things, like baking cookies and putting up the tree and hanging out with the kid. Mostly, my plan is to be present.

It’s important to note that I came up with this plan after at least seven days on various doses of narcotics following abdominal surgery, so I’m not sure if this will work out in the stone-cold sober light of reality. Also, I’m going to have to find a way to un-see things like “Inspirational Rubber Duckies.” I mean, just when you think Christmas couldn’t get more absurd, someone goes and makes a nativity out of bath toys. That is something else.

1 Comment

Filed under The view from here

One response to “This and That and Something Else

  1. My clergy people swore. Serious swearing. Light and funny swearing. Swears for sailors. Swears for second grade. Not all the time, but I certainly remember them doing it. And I also remember them saying that God’s love was for everyone, regardless of if we liked them or not. Even those mean girls in high school we all loved to hate. It was a tough love ministry that would call you out if you did something dumb. And made me a better person for it!