Happy Birthday Gorgeous, Handsome One!

Courtesy: Whitney Loibner

Four years ago, when the late Amy Winehouse’s husband was in court for some infraction, she stood up in the gallery and yelled, “I love you, you handsome, gorgeous one!” I tried this at a party with Charlie not long after. He did not find it nearly as funny as I did. And that pretty much sums us up. He is George Burns to my Gracie Allen, and not always willingly.

Today is Charlie’s Birthday. He’s tried to live his 42 years on this planet respectably. For the most part, he’s cultivated the image of a dignified guy. He would have had an easier task had he married someone other than me. But God bless that man, he seems to be having a good time in this life of ours.

So here’s to you, Charlie. May your next 42 years be even better than the first! And I do love you, you handsome, gorgeous one!

4 Comments

Filed under The view from here

4 responses to “Happy Birthday Gorgeous, Handsome One!

  1. I teared up when I read this. Beautiful love.

  2. Brigett C.

    Happy Birthday Charlie!! 42 is a great place to be!! Enjoy it!!

  3. C

    I’m blushing…

    Happiness? A good cigar, a good meal, a good cigar and a good woman – or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle.
    George Burns

  4. Debbie

    Happy Birthday, Charlie:)