Body Back Week 7: Support

lone ranger

The Lone Ranger

I don’t really understand support groups. Well, I understand what they are and how they function, but I don’t understand the whole notion of “sharing” with people you can see. I prefer to sit behind a computer screen and type my feelings. Mostly, I’ve spent a great deal of time trying to convince myself I am somehow different from other people. I don’t need what other folks need. I’m a Lone Ranger kind of girl.

The truth is I am dreadfully typical. I need what everyone needs: to be connected. Fitness is no different. Left to my own devices, I say I’m going to work out, but I don’t. I claim I’ll eat right, but I never do. I intend to get my act together, but it doesn’t happen.

Certainly, the Body Back exercise and nutrition is key. But I really think the most beneficial part of this program has been the support Susan provides. She’s created a community of women who are all working to be healthy and strong. She pushes us really hard to improve, but manages not to make it competitive. That’s a very hard needle to thread.

Since I know I have to weigh in on Tuesday mornings, I actually think about what that’s gonna mean when I’m making food decisions on Saturday nights. Today, when I fell behind on a run, another woman waited up and encouraged me get moving again. She even hummed a little “Chariots of Fire.” All of this really does make a difference. It honestly motivates me to keep working hard.

I think it’s working. I look slimmer in my mirror. My clothes fit better. I wore a dress yesterday I haven’t worn in a year. When I share these kind of success with my classmates, they are genuinely happy for me. It’s such a good feeling. Next week is the last of this session. I’ll weigh, measure and do other assessments. I’ll report back on my progress.

In the mean time, Susan is offering a free preview class this Saturday, April 14 at War Memorial stadium 8:30 a.m. I’ll be there. And who wouldn’t want me to be their support system? I’m delightful!

Disclosure: I am blogging about my experience in the Body Back classes in exchange for an eight-week session.

Comments Off on Body Back Week 7: Support

Filed under THINspiration

Comments are closed.