It Feels Like Hunting Season

Everything is blooming early. Even the weeds. Monkey Boy picked these just for me.

Mother Nature is a cranky, old biddy. In her defense, we’ve been totally jacking with the environment for quite some time. But now she’s flinging Spring on us way too early as revenge. And all at once. Flowers are blooming. Birds are singing. And it’s pissing me off.

My allergies are a mess. I’m maxed out on every kind of medication possible. I thought the worst of it had passed. Then I got a call Friday to pick up Monkey Boy. He had 101 fever and terrible congestion. He seemed to improve over the weekend, but yesterday it was clear the cough had migrated to his chest, so I took him to the doctor. He’s now on an antibiotic.

This morning Charlie has a fever. He’s afflicted with lots of snot. It’s super attractive. I can count on one hand the number of times Charlie has been sick in the 18 years I’ve known him. He’s not happy. So I left the two of them at home to feel miserable together.

So far, Katy Kat is ailment-free. We’ll see how long she lasts. Mother Nature clearly is out to get us all. She’s locked and loaded with pollen, mold and dander. This must be how deer and ducks feel during the Fall. We’re being hunted, y’all.

Comments Off on It Feels Like Hunting Season

Filed under The view from here

Comments are closed.