Body Back Week 1

For awhile, I’ve been not-so-subtly hinting I’d be open to a cookie or bourbon sponsorship of this blog. So, of course, a friend approached me about a workout trade. Susan owns Body Back in Little Rock. Fine, Universe. I can take a hint. I began this week.

I’ll be tracking my progress here over the next eight weeks. This is gonna be no joke. For starters, there are some women in the class who have done these before. They are *cut.* I’m not kidding. They look amazing. Of course, I’ve been jealous of Susan’s figure as long as I’ve known her. I don’t think you look like that eating cookies and drinking bourbon. You look like me in my “before” pics.

These are unbelievably humiliating. But if I’m gonna do this, I might as well be honest about it. Just be thankful I didn’t show you the “sports bra” shots.

Before

Before

I talked to Susan about my fairly aggressive goals. She told me it would be doable, but I would have to be very strict about my diet and eat according to the Body Back plan. She also pointed out that I should probably get off the sauce. Again, if I’m gonna do this, I might as well go all in. So, I’m not drinking for the next eight weeks.

Charlie was quick to point out I’m not allowed to call this a Lent sacrifice since my goals are quite obviously not spiritual. He knows me a little too well.

One exception: I’m not giving up Saturday donuts with the family. That’s just too big a deal to me. If you try to mess with my Shipley’s, I will cut.you.

So wish me luck. The next few weeks are going to be quite the adventure. I’m already in pain. But I think that’s probably a good thing.

Disclosure: I am blogging about my experience in the Body Back classes in exchange for an eight-week session.

6 Comments

Filed under THINspiration

6 responses to “Body Back Week 1

  1. You can do it!! Way to put yourself out there, sister! Accountability is the key! Now, let’s get some Black Eyed Peas pumping and DO THIS. 🙂

  2. Ty

    Good luck! I’m pretty much in the same boat these days. I bought P90X. I’ve heard it will kill me. Oh well. But I’m not strong enough to give up the bourbon or girl scout cookies.

  3. You go girl! Behind you all the way!

  4. lisamullis

    As a fellow claimant on the “I work out because I like to eat red meat and drink beer” philosophy, I wish you willpower and success.

  5. Good for you. Good luck!

  6. Jennifer

    So proud of you. I LOVE Susan and Body Back. Changed my life (and since I’ve been off the wagon for three months … it’s about to have to change it again.)