Jedi Mind Tricks Husband

Monkey Boy checking out the windows in our new WALLS!

He doesn’t think I know what he’s done. He totally thinks he got away with it. He doesn’t realize I’m just too tired to fight about it. Although it’s possible he counted on wearing me down.

Charlie Case gets to have the doors he wanted on the new version of the old house. He wins because he was smart enough not to attack outright. He was all sneaky about it.

When we first started looking at designs for the rebuild, he would show me photos of back porches and sun rooms he liked. I would say, “Yes, but with different doors.” He would remain silent. Then I saw the photos he’d pulled go to the architect. I said, “Those elements, but with different doors.” Not a word.

We were at a meeting with the contractor a few weeks ago, going over some selections. He was asking us a series of questions.

Builder: Windows, Color A or Color B?

Me: Color B.

Builder: Window panes, Option A or Option B?

Me: Option A.

Builder: Doors, Option A or Option B?

Me: Option A.

Charlie: Those are not the doors you want.

Me: What? No, those are exactly the doors I want.

Charlie: Those are not the doors you want.

Me: Look, Jedi mind tricks! Those may not be the doors you want, but those are exactly the doors I want.

Charlie: You haven’t thought that through.

Me: Yes, I have. Those are the doors I want. Those are the doors I said I wanted. If you want something different say so, but stop telling me what I want and think.

Charlie (turns to builder): We’re going to have to get back to you on the doors. We haven’t made a decision.

I was totally steaming. I started grumbling about telling me what I want and various, assorted other infractions he’s committed over the years. Then he distracted me with a shiny dime and I forgot about the whole thing.

But he’s wily. Today he called with a list of questions from the contractor before they do some things.

Charlie: Windows, Color A or Color B?

Me: Color B.

Charlie: Good, that’s what I told him. Window panes, Option A or Option B?

Me: Option A.

Charlie: That’s what I told him. And then I told him Option A on the door.

Fine. Well played, Charlie Case. You win.

2 Comments

Filed under A Tree Fell On my House

2 responses to “Jedi Mind Tricks Husband

  1. Not cool, Charlie Case. Not cool.