Football Fashion Disasters

Getty image

It’s no secret I love college football. I am a loyal fan of the Arkansas Razorbacks. I am so loyal that I was a Razorback Belle for Danny Ford. Translation: I tried to convince 17- and 18-year-old boys they wanted to play football for a team which was less than successful when it came to actually winning games. I have worn the infamous Hog hat. Many times.

I write all this to explain I understand how things can get out of hand when it comes to loving a team, especially when it comes to fashion. However, this year things have gotten out of hand across the NCAA. I can come to only one conclusion: there is a bet between Under Armour and Nike to see who can make teams wear the most absurd uniforms.

Don’t believe me?

west virginia

University of West Virginia by Nike - You can't really tell from this photo, but there are two different shades of yellow on this uniform. It actually hurts to look at it on TV.

oregon

University of Oregon by Nike - The Oregon Ducks have feathers on their shoulders. Really.

south carolina

University of South Carolina by Under Armour - Yes, those are chicken legs. They're the Gamecocks.

University of Maryland by Under Armour - I don't even know how to begin.

I’d say Under Armour is in the lead at this point. But there’s still time for Nike to pull out something during the BCS bowls. So there’s that to look forward to.

3 Comments

Filed under The view from here

3 responses to “Football Fashion Disasters

  1. That last one has to do with the Maryland flag. I think I only know this because of an episode of Ace of Cakes recently. Either way, it’s wrong, wrong, wrong.
    Go big red with the white thingys and gold and black checkered pattern! Woo!

  2. Leah Johnsey

    Whoa now, don’t be hating on the Gamecock uniforms! They actually look really cool on the field.
    What about the hideous all-red uniorms georgia sported on Opening weekend???? THOSE made my eyes bleed.

  3. Zac Cosner

    FYI… If you’re really looking to get into this subject check out http://www.uni-watch.com