Teacher Love

kristin class

Monkey Boy's class

I am delaying the regularly scheduled Wordless Wednesday because I have to write a love letter to my son’s teacher. She is full of awesome. When I walked Monkey Boy into his room today, she was standing in the door, holding a girl’s hair while she puked in the trashcan.

Somehow amidst the puking she ordered ten 4- and 5-year-old kids to sit down and start coloring. They obeyed. Then she told me to go get another teacher. I obeyed. They sprung into action and got the girl to the office and began the clean up process. Another mom got there about the same time I did, she and I were left in charge of the class while everything got back in order.

Two things here: 1) I have an GIANT fear of being left alone with children. I’m certain my neurotic germs will rub off on them and they will spend years in therapy just from having breathed the same air as me. 2) I’m a sympathy puker. I just kept repeating to myself, “Do not get sick. Do not get sick.” I didn’t.

I had to leave for work, so the other mom held down the fort once the initial chaos passed. As far as know, things settled down and the kids were taken to Spanish class to get their learning on.

This is a really great time to mention that I ADORE Monkey Boy’s teacher. Today, she earned some extra chocolate chip cookies when she gets to heaven, but even without a puking episode, she.is.awesome.

She spends 6-7 hours every day in a room with more short people than tall people. She answers about 20 million “but why?” questions. She gets them to sit still and be quiet. She wipes noses, wipes bottoms and cleans bloody knees. She gives hugs liberally and scolds only enough to keep kids in line.

Oh, and somewhere in the middle of this organized chaos, she TEACHES!! Things are really coming together for Monkey Boy this year. His grasp of letters and numbers has grown by leaps and bounds. He is *this close* to reading. He understands the concepts of basic addition and subtraction. I am in awe.

So here’s to Ms. Kristin! She deserves cupcakes, champagne and applause! And here’s to teachers everywhere who do the incredibly difficult job of teaching children and instilling a love a learning in them! You are all amazing! Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under The view from here

4 responses to “Teacher Love

  1. Thank you! I’ll take your accolades whenever offered.

  2. This makes me smile.

  3. Kristen

    This is so sweet! I adore your little man! He’s an amazing boy! Thanks for the encouragement and sweet words. They are appreciated more than you know!

  4. Okay, wiping bottoms is enough for any teacher to get a gold medal, crown, and to be the queen of their very own small country! I wiped my kids only because I gave birth to them.