Lesson Learned

Tim Griffin Logo

This bumper sticker should have told me all I needed to know

The first time I met our former builder, I noticed he had a Republican bumper sticker on his truck. I was not pleased. I told Baby Daddy he left some important bits out of the builder selection packet. He told me even fascists have to make a living. I agreed.

Then it all went to hell.

After some time to digest what it all meant, I told Baby Daddy we’d learned an important lesson: This is what comes of doing business with Republicans.

For the record, none of the new builders we interviewed had any kind of political stickers on their vehicles. I choose to believe they are on the proper side of the political spectrum. That’s at least how I sleep at night.

16 Comments

Filed under A Tree Fell On my House

16 responses to “Lesson Learned

  1. I hired a landscaper over the phone once. When he showed up with multiple conservative bumper stickers and a gun rack on his truck, I promptly fired him before he even had a chance to unload his gear. I also won’t shop at stores that put conservative posters in their windows. I also don’t eat at Chik Fil A, I don’t drink Coors beer (I used to) and avoid Target like the plague. I have a choice where I give my money away, and if I can at all help it, I don’t want to give it to people who either don’t share my values or who will give it to candidates who don’t. That helps me sleep a little bit better at night.

  2. KatieMc

    I heard once that we can see what we value most when we examine our checkbook. We put our money where our values are. I’m proud to know women who stand up for what they believe. I’m a registered Republican and I’m glad we can still be friends. 🙂

  3. Well there are psychological studies that say that certain personality traits and political ideology are linked

  4. David

    Having not attended the Queen Kerri School of Remedial Humor, I’m not sure whether this is satire or not. I hope it is. Is it?

    Otherwise it’s a pretty crappy attitude. I know you must be exhausted waiting for the building work to be done. I would be cranky too, and you have my sympathy. If your post above is borne of frustration, I get it. If not, well …
    to ascribe this person’s lack of professionalism or honesty to his political views is not very mature. Coming from a place where there are no Republicans or Democrats or bumper stickers at all, I can attest that dishonest, rogue builders represent a sizeable percentage of the whole lot. My first thought when being ripped off by one is not to check what political party he supports in order to make myself feel better when I found out he supports the other party etc. That’s called confirmation bias. Have a look:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confirmation_bias

    My mother does it when she ascribes any negative trait in people to their lack of Christian faith (or her definition of “real faith”). I don’t see how saying you won’t hire Republicans because they are Republicans is any different.

    • LordHaveMercy, it’s a JOKE! In case no one noticed, I mock my life situations to create laughter instead of tears. It’s my coping mechanism.
      In this case, I attribute this man’s lack professionalism to his lack of professional behavior toward me, my husband and other professionals with whom we have relationships. I attribute his lack of honesty to the fact that he was less than honest with us.
      I do contend it’s not a terribly good idea to put political bumper stickers of any kind on any work vehicle, but I say you shouldn’t wear white after Labor Day for the same reason: it’s just tacky. As matter of good judgment, said stickers make essentially half of your potential customer base uncomfortable, which is not a terribly good way to start off a business transaction.
      But as long as we’re on a more serious subject, I also think it’s a good idea to do business with people whose values you support. I try to buy local produce, energy efficient appliances and cars with good gas mileage to reduce my carbon footprint. I look at charities’ administrative costs when we make choices for donations to be sure we’re being good stewards of the money we control. It’s not information bias. It’s being mindful of the influence, however small, I may have.

    • As an alumni, I can attest that the Queen Kerri School of Remedial Humor is an excellent institution. However, it is quite difficult to gain admittance. The faculty is very discriminating, and even though it is a remedial curriculum, they do require applicants to have at least a vestige of a funny bone (x-rays will be required).

      If you’d ever like me to help you with your application, I’d be happy to oblige.

  5. Intolerance is unacceptable.

    There are no qualifiers to that statement.

    When you publicly refer to Republicans as fascists and say “This is what comes of doing business with Republicans” you have crossed the line.

    I’m a registered Republican, a proud Conservative, and fundamentalist evangelical which means I’ve been called about every name under the book. I learned long ago there was a double standard and that it was acceptable, even encouraged, to slander and be disrespectful to the non-liberals.

    I do not care how you conduct your life or business affairs but it is a problem when you encourage such small minded thinking.

    As I said in the DM this is your blog and your voice and I have no right to tell you what is appropriate however posts like these cause me to think twice about subscribing, supporting, and sharing.

    You (and Amy) are dear friends and I’m proud that we have such a great relationship despite our ideological differences. We take great pains to treat each other with respect and honesty.

    This post was hurtful and disrespectful. I guess I’m just disappointed this came from you.

    PS: At no time did I consider this article humorous. In the end I’m not sure that the intended humor matters.

    • I did not call all Republicans fascists. I called Tim Griffin one. As long as he asserts his intolerance of gays, minorities, immigrants, women and Muslims from a position of authority, I will be intolerant of him. I respect his office, as I contributed both time and dollars to his opponent. I want someone I can respect as a human in that office. I also worked for his predecessor, whom I hold in the highest regard a man of integrity. I will work to unseat Griffin in the next election cycle. He does not represent my values. He, personally, has been hurtful and disrespectful to people I care about both professionally and personally. The fact that a man I considered doing business with, supported him openly gave me pause, as it should anyone who knows what I know about Griffin. When that man turned out to hold the same values as Griffin, it’s clear they both give the Grand Old Party a bad reputation.

      I’m not registered to any party. I’ve made no secret of my Christian faith. I tend to be more progressive than conservative, mostly because I have no interest in conserving laws or policies that are unfavorable to women, children, minorities, gays, Jews or Muslims. And if we’re going to discuss name-calling, Griffin and his staff have used plenty for me.

      You don’t have to like my humor. You could also “Lighten up, Frances.”

    • I am intolerant of men who beat their wives. I am intolerant of kids who try to burn cats alive. I am intolerant of parents who blow marijuana smoke into their toddler’s face. I could go on…

      I’m intolerant of a lot of behavior, and there is nothing unacceptable about that.

  6. David

    I’m glad it’s satire. I’m relieved, in fact. And I freely admit I could use a semester or two in the Queen Kerri School of Remedial Humor (my idea, remember?). This was not a funny joke though IMHO. I still vividly remember your “People (i.e. Palin Supporters) need to watch what they say and write)” from January. And you most certainly were not joking then. BTW I’m still waiting on the post which castigates the left side of the political spectrum for violent rhetoric. You promised that “for another day”. Perhaps once your house is rebuilt by someone who daren’t eat at ChickFilA, drink Coors (dear God!) or sport a gun rack on his truck.

  7. Joke or not, since when is it NOT OK to decide what businesses you will choose to support or who you will give your money to? Why is everyone acting like this is a bad thing?

    Would I be a bad person if I chose not to patronize a business run by a man who has publicly professed his beliefs that women are inferior creatures, and shouldn’t be allowed to vote or hold office? What if I didn’t want to hire a babysitter whose religion dictated she spank children quite roughly for even minor infractions? Or didn’t want to give my money to a restaurant whose owner uses his profits to contribute to the IRA? Or decided not to buy gas from a company that has harmed the environment because of its lax safety practices?

    None of those things are illegal. But they are things I don’t agree with. Why am I a bad person for choosing not to support people and organizations whose aims are diametrically opposed to my long-held beliefs?

    If I did something like that, I might as well contribute to the campaign of a politician who I don’t like and won’t vote for. But why would I do that? I may be many things, but stupid isn’t one of them.

    Before you get all self-righteous about this, tell me — would YOU support people and businesses who go against your beliefs? Would YOU give money to a politician who you can’t stand?