Four Horsemen in Death Valley

Notre Dame Four HorsemenOutlined against a blue, gray October sky the Four Horsemen rode again.

In dramatic lore they are known as famine, pestilence, destruction and death. These are only aliases….

~Grantland Rice, a sportswriter for the New York Herald-Tribune after Notre Dame’s 13-7 victory over Army on October 18, 1924

For decades now, Notre Dame has lived off the glory of some seriously overwritten sports journalism. Sadly, this is starting to feel like it was written about us. Famine, pestilence, destruction and death are indeed aliases, but for storms, insurance adjusters, mortgage companies and building permits. For future reference, if anyone ever says the words “variance,” “build line” or “easement” out loud, just go ahead and curl up in the fetal position and start rocking. It will save everyone some time.

There is nothing to do but to keep pulling, tugging and trying to force this project forward. Because it’s my home, damnit. But some days it just feels like we’re re-enacting The Charge of the Light Brigade.

‘Forward, the Light Brigade!’
Was there a man dismay’d ?
Not tho’ the soldier knew
Some one had blunder’d:
Theirs not to make reply,
Theirs not to reason why,
Theirs but to do & die,
Into the valley of Death
Rode the six hundred.

~Alfred, Lord Tennyson, memorializing Events in the Battle of Balaclava, October 25, 1854

Yes, I know this is hyperbole. I’m feeling rather dramatic. I’ll consider being positive tomorrow.

2 Comments

Filed under A Tree Fell On my House

2 responses to “Four Horsemen in Death Valley

  1. Look, I’ve built a house from nothing, so I know that it can be done. BUT, I chose to deal with that. I knew what I was getting into, and I had a plan.
    The crap with my bakery is taking forever right now, and all we’re trying to do is put in a bathroom and a wall. You’re allowed to be frustrated. Angry even. And one day-hopefully one day soon, you’ll look back and laugh, thinking, “I was upset over that?”

  2. My parents are dealing with similar nightmares at their broke house. Maybe it’s because my dad is a Notre Dame fan, huh?

    Just keep on keepin’ on, and keep your chin up, and keep fighting the good fight. And other cliches with “keep” in them. You forget how tough you are sometimes. You’ll get there…