On Blogs, BBQ and That Book Store

Kyran Pittman

Before her reading, Kyran posed for fan photos

I’ve been reading a lot. I’ve been soaking in words. I’ve been thinking. I’ve been talking to friends. And Lordhavemercy, I have been eating.

Saturday, I went to my friend Kyran‘s book signing at the famed That Bookstore in Blytheville. She published her first book: Planting Dandelions. (It’s really good.)

A group of friends went as her fan base. Mostly we’re just trying soak up some of her glory because we’re all so excited for her.

I loved having time to just talk with such smart, funny women. It fed my soul… and my belly. The Dixie Pig in Blytheville is no joke. That’s some really good food.

old school marketing

I’m still ruminating… on our conversation, not the Dixie Pig. We talked about kids, family, life, marriage and fashion. Also this weekend, a dear friend’s daughter was confirmed and another dear friend buried a loved one. I’m having a whole “circle of life” thing happening right now. It would be profound if Elton John would stop singing in my head.

I’m left again with a strong feeling of gratitude. I’m grateful for friends, family, a roof over our heads and enough food to eat. (I’m NOT grateful for the process of insurance claims, but that’s a rant for another day.) I’m also grateful for you, dear reader. Five years ago, I started writing this blog for quite literally an audience of three. For whatever reason, the rest of you have shown up along the way.

Thanks for reading my stuff. Thanks for commenting. Thanks for laughing in all the right places. Mostly, thanks for reading what I put into the Universe mostly to keep from going insane. Now if I could just figure out a cookie or bourbon sponsorship, I’d totally be set.

9 Comments

Filed under The view from here

9 responses to “On Blogs, BBQ and That Book Store

  1. That trip on Saturday was so good for my soul.

  2. Jim Herndon

    Kerri – I’m looking forward to the next five years. By then you’ll be so successful you’ll have someone else writing your blog. I’m slowly working my way through previous posts and Boy, have you matured in your writing. Fantastic! Best of luck and thank you for entertaining us.
    Your oldest friend,
    Jim

  3. How exciting. Five years is a big deal. I’m around 3 and a half on mine. And I still only have 3 readers. 🙂 The trip you guys took sounds fun!

  4. Julie

    Are you coming to the Arkansas Women Blogger conference? There are less than 2 weeks left to register! Check out our website to register soon! We hope you come! http://arkansaswomenbloggers.blogspot.com/p/featured-blogger.html

  5. You have an incredible, fresh, honest and approachable voice. I thank you for putting it out there, crust and all. You don’t shy away from the truth, and in a culture framed by politics and an unwillingness to try to understand others, I applaud you for writing what is real. Thanks for the grounding.

  6. I love and value your writing. You have a beautiful gift with words.

    Five years is a HUGE deal!! Congratulations!!! I hope I make it there someday!

  7. Alison

    I was just talking to my coworker yesterday about your blog and how it always makes me smile.

  8. FIVE YEARS?!?! Congrats! And here’s to many more.

  9. I am so grateful for your blog, friend – because of it, I know you…