Fun Wash

One of the interesting things about hotel living is how many services you have to hire done. For instance, we pretty much eat out every meal right now. Someone else is cleaning my bathrooms and making my beds. Not that I’m complaining about this, it’s just an adjustment. Normally, I do my own laundry. In fact, I’m psychotic about how my laundry is washed, folded and put away. But I took a deep breath and sent my stuff to the local laundry mat.

The fun part of Fun Wash is supposed to be they do your laundry for you. But I have discovered, the fun part is a little game they play called “Hours of Operation.” The sign may indicate they stay open until 6pm. But that doesn’t mean they don’t leave at 4:30. You just never know.

At one point, I could see my laundry washed, folded, hung and bagged. It was just behind a locked glass door with no real idea on when I might be able to retrieve it.

Wishful thinking could connect my laundry hostage situation with the tree in my house, but the truth is, this sort of absurdity happens to me all the time. Normal people seem to be able to conduct business in a professional way in this life. I have never quite succeeded at that. I’m always in some sort of kerfuffle.

I guess I should be thankful I have insurance to pay for all this. I don’t have to ask for favors in order to have clean underpants for my kid. But I’m really looking forward to moving into our rent house this weekend. I could use a little less excitement in my day.

2 Comments

Filed under A Tree Fell On my House

2 responses to “Fun Wash

  1. Jennifer

    I love that you used the word “kerfuffle.” You just don’t get enough “kerfuffle” these days. Hang in there!

  2. I just laughed right out loud in the middle of my grad class where, incidentally, I am NOT supposed to be reading yours or any other blog:)

    I love the game of “Hours of Operation.”

    I am so sorry for you current situation of “tree on house” but I am slightly thankful that it gives you so many funny things to write about:)