Good News, No Really, It’s Good News

Monkey Boy in his Easter best

We went home to the church where I was baptized for Easter service. Today seemed a bit off kilter. Maybe I’m just weary, but it seemed like it was all death, dying, battle and attack. The point of this aggression was driven home when the pastor repeated the words, “Dead. Dead. Dead.” It all just seemed like a bit of overkill.

Seems someone forgot to tell them today is a joyful day. It’s about peace, grace, hope and other good stuff. This whole Christianity thing is sometimes referred to “Good News.” A few books have been written about it. Go ahead, spread the word. And if you want to smile when you do it, that’s considered a good thing.

It bothers me a little Monkey Boy sat through that. He was visibly upset by all the talk of death. We smoothed it over best we could. But when he thinks of Easter and God, in general, I want him to focus not on guilt and fear, but love, charity and justice. I want him to think of How Great Thou Art.

3 Comments

Filed under The view from here

3 responses to “Good News, No Really, It’s Good News

  1. They had the kids sing “Were You There When they Crucified My Lord” in the church I grew up in today. It weirded me out. That’s a Good Friday song, and sure, it has its place, but today is all about shouting HE IS RISEN! HE IS RISEN INDEED! ALLELUIA! AMEN!, not all about death and sadness.

  2. elz

    It was hard this week explaining the miracle of the resurrection to my girls as well. I try to focus on how great God is as well. Glad to know I’m not the only one wrestling with these parenting issues!