I wish I had time to… {People, Please}

Other blogs use the new year to make you thinner, healthier, richer or smarter. Every Tuesday in January, my blog will let you know the things you do that annoy others, so you can stop. It’s about improving you, so my life will be better.

Prague Astronomical Clock by Petr Kratochvil

Prague Astronomical Clock by Petr Kratochvil

I can think of few phrases ever uttered that are more condescending than, “I wish I had time to…” This is almost always spoken after someone has just announced a new hobby, interest, book or project. The person hearing this news will say, “Wow, I wish I had time to do that.”

There is one and only one reason to say that: to be sure that everyone knows what you do is more important than what they do. See, everyone has the same amount of time. We all get 24 hours in a day and 365 days in a year, except in leap years when we get that extra day. How we chose to spend that time is about priorities.

Perhaps your priority is paying your mortgage and providing health insurance for your children, so you spend 8 of your 24 hours at a job. There’s nothing wrong with that. It does cut into your time available for other things, such as crafting, reading, baking, sewing, rock climbing, napping and watching reality television. But say you spend 8 hours sleeping (it’s just hypothetical, stop laughing), you still have 8 other hours to spend how you choose.

37 seconds.
Great. Well done. Now we wait.
No. We breathe. We pulse. We regenerate. Our hearts beat. Our minds create. Our souls ingest. 37 seconds, well used, is a lifetime.
~Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium

We make our choices. We live the consequences. Use your time for something useful. Or don’t. That’s up to you. But People, please don’t tell people your time is better spent than theirs. Not when I know you’ve watch Tori and Dean: Home Sweet Hollywood. Or read my blog.

The following is just because I can:


12 Comments

Filed under People, Please

12 responses to “I wish I had time to… {People, Please}

  1. Jennifer Fleming

    Kerri, I love reading your blog because it reminds me of you, which reminds me of a younger me. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention I wish I had time to… {People, Please} | Damn You, Little Rock -- Topsy.com

  3. Connie Weiss

    I just had a talk with my husband the other day about how he could *find time* to go to the gym. It was a lost cause….

    I have more time than I know what to do with. That’s why you can always find me on twitter. πŸ™‚

    Love your posts Kerri!

  4. Pam C. Pruett

    I love this…it is true, we do make time for the things we want to do…don’t groan people, you just read my reply didn’t you????

  5. Oops, guilty, sorry. You’re absolutely right.

  6. I couldn’t agree more!! I know someone who does this and it always bothered me when she says it but I never could figure out WHY it bothers me so much, but you described it so well!!!

  7. Love it! Exactly why it annoys me when people say they don’t have time to make art or go to the gym but then proceed to retell everything happening on their favorite TV shows… well put!

  8. So so true! I’m sure I’ve made that excuse before…so I could watch Real Housewives instead. Great post!

    [Love the video, too. One of my favorite musicals!]

  9. Mike

    Kerri
    Love the use of the clock in old town in Prague! Did you know the monarch/tyrant in charge had the maker of this clock’s eyes gouged out so he could not replicate of better it elsewhere? Worst Christmas bonus ever!

  10. Michael

    Sounds like Mr. Magorium was having a quicky. I wish I had time for that!