Best Christmas Pageant Ever

Best Christmas Pageant EverMy friend Kristin declared her all-time favorite Christmas book is Best Christmas Pageant Ever. It’s mine too. The school librarian read it to my class at Oakland Heights Elementary School. I thought it was the greatest story I’d ever heard. Then my sister and I watched the TV movie my parents recorded on the VCR over and over and over. A few years ago, my dad gave my sister and I copies of the book for Christmas. We both stopped opened our gifts and began reading it on the spot. It’s just that good.

Maybe that’s why I got all worked up when we got a post card in the mail informing us this is the first year Monkey Boy will be in the pageant on Christmas Eve in the Family Service at our church. This is an absolutely thrilling development. He will be “an animal.” Costumes are provided by the Children’s Ministries, and if I understand correctly, they are awarded according to who fits into which one. He’ll most likely be sheep #2 or some other such dubious role. I am quite possibly the only person on the planet who is excited about his theater debut.

From the outside, anyone watching this pageant will see the same one put on every year. But they will be missing one important element: there will be a Monkey playing a sheep. Betcha don’t have one of those at your church! (Not that I’m competitive.) I’ve surprised myself by how excited I am about this. I know it’s silly. I know it’s cliché. But I’ll be there with my flip camera because no one should ever forget the first Christmas Eve my kid wore a hand-me-down costume for the pageant everyone has seen a million times.

Mostly, don’t tell Baby Daddy, but I’m secretly hoping for an outburst like this:

4 Comments

Filed under Monkey Boy

4 responses to “Best Christmas Pageant Ever

  1. Pam C. Pruett

    I LOVE it!!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Allisone

    Barbara Robinson is from the little village I live in these days. I’m excited too. It will be so much fun.

  3. Pingback: I believe in magic | Damn You, Little Rock