It’s like they’re reading my blog

sock monkey water bottle lables

Sock Monkey water bottle labels ordered from http://www.ohmygluestick.com

It’s gonna be a circus around here this weekend. We’ve invited even more than the usual chaos into the house. Saturday I’m throwing one of my dear friends a baby shower. Of course, I’ve gone completely PsychoCrafter about the whole thing. The water bottles are just the tip of the Sock Monkey iceberg. (I’ll have complete details next week.) Some friends are coming over Saturday night to eat pizza, drink beer and watch football. We’ll probably yell at our kids, too. It’s what we do. As far as I’m concerned, there’s no better way to celebrate your birthday. Sunday, another precious friend is having a baby shower. I just have to show up with a gift for that one, thank goodness.

Fedex package

mystery box

In the middle of all this madness (at one point looked like a craft-paper-eating goat exploded in the den), a package arrived. It was addressed to Baby Daddy, but he doesn’t shop online. Actually, he doesn’t shop. I knew it had to be for me. Don’t think for a second I didn’t Google the FedEx tracking number to see if I could figure out what it was. All I could find out was that it originated in Irving, TX and weighed less than two pounds. I considered going to the courthouse to have it scanned, but settled for a time-tested method of discovery: I begged and pleaded and basically acted like a four-year-old until Baby Daddy let me open my birthday gift.

David Yurman bracelet

pretty, shiny bracelet

It’s a David Yurman bracelet I’ve wanted, but hadn’t said anything about. It matches the necklace he gave me when I graduated. It surprised me completely. I don’t usually wear bracelets, but I’ve been thinking about them a lot lately. I wrote a piece for Little Rock Family last month based on his late Aunt’s theory of life to “Always Pick the Bracelet.” He picked one for me. It was the perfect one.

my blog as a book

Katy Kat used http://www.blog2print.com to have my blog printed and bound as a book

Then Katy Kat told me she could wait no longer to give me my gift. Again, I was filled with shock and gratitude. She had my blog printed and bound into a book. I’m published! It is so amazingly beautiful and thoughtful. If I were the kind of person who cried, I would have wept openly.

I am blessed beyond measure. I have a life full of friends, family, celebrations and joy. (Yes, there are sprinkles of ugliness in there too, but we’re not thinking about that now.) The people closest to me are insightful and kind. They are also funny and sarcastic, keeping me in check. They may laugh at my antics, but never my intent. They are cheerleaders, butt-kickers and safe shoulders.

After 35 trips around the sun, I can’t imagine anything more to show for my travels.

3 Comments

Filed under The view from here

3 responses to “It’s like they’re reading my blog

  1. Well, there goes my idea of having your blog printed for you. Great minds…
    A day late and a dollar short.
    I’m glad you got great gifts.

  2. You. Are. Loved.
    I’ve heard you get twice as much as you give. I’m thinking about giving more. 😉

  3. Alison

    Loved your LR Family Bracelet piece and the gift of this bracelet brings a tear to my eye. I’m a crier. So I’m shedding a tear or two on your behalf.