Pumpkin Carving

I promised Monkey Boy we would carve a pumpkin, you know, two weeks ago. He said he had to have a jack-o-lantern for Halloween. Since today is Halloween, I figured this afternoon was my last chance to get this done.

Five Little Pumkins book

One of Monkey Boy's favorite books is Five Little Pumpkins given to him by his Auntie M. He likes it year round. Usually sometime around March we have to make it disappear for a while to keep from killing ourselves.

Five Little Pumpkins

Monkey Boy picked his favorite pumpkin for us to carve.

Pumkin and Knife

If you sneak up behind the pumpkin, he never sees it coming and it's less painful for everyone.

Monkey Boy scooping out pumpkin

Monkey Boy started to scoop out the pumpkin.

Monkey Boy gross face

But he said it was gross and he wanted me to do it.

Pumpkin innards

It is pretty gross, actually.

pumpkin & cup

I had to use a cup to trace the circles. At this point, Monkey Boy wandered off in search of something to drink.

jack-o-lantern

My mad carving skills.

Monkey Boy & jack-o-lantern

Monkey Boy making the same face as the jack-o-lantern *he* made. He named it Polar Bear.

About five minutes after the picture taking was done, I started smelling burnt pumpkin. I went to check and the candle was slightly too tall and caught the lid of the jack-o-lantern on fire. Luckily, I caught it before any real damage was done and Polar Bear is no worse for the wear.

Happy Halloween!

Comments Off on Pumpkin Carving

Filed under Monkey Boy, The PsychoCrafter

Comments are closed.