Austin, Life Lists & Hooters

This weekend was a big one for me. Because eveything’s bigger in Texas. There, now I’m done with the Texas cuteness.

bloggy boot camp

I stole the logo from the website and I'm hoping Tiffany doesn't get mad. She could totally kick my arse.

I spoke at Bloggy Boot Camp in Austin. I totally rocked it. (Most of you reading this weren’t there so I can say that and you’ll never know.) I spoke about writing so readers will engage and gave writing tips. This means absolutely no one will comment on my blog for months, and I will now notice 8 bajillion grammar and spelling errors in previous posts. That’s how these things go.

Seriously, I had a great time and met some amazing women. The trip was made even more fun by my dear friend Savannah, who I made abandon her family for three days because I don’t have the stamina for an eight-hour drive by myself. We laughed. There were shenanigans. We were never reported to the law.

bronze armadillo

Noelle & I are supposed to have lunch so she can claim her "prize." Wonder how eager she'll be when she sees what it is.

Of course, we left Little Rock late. We are both physically incapable of leaving on time. We had a pool won by our friend Noelle who guessed to.the.minute. the exact time of our departure. It was 10:57 AM. We were scheduled to leave at 10.

Saturday morning, I woke up with a stabbing pain in my right ear. Savannah found it disturbing when I told her I took a bunch of meds, so everything would be fine. But I did. And it was.

It’s intimidating to speak at these kinds of conferences because some women, like Angela England, are really impressive. She taught me new things about SEO or “Search Engine Optimization.” I’m Internet simple, so I appreciate all the help I can get. No one threw rotten tomatoes when I was speaking or even pie, which was readily available. (But who would waste good pie?) I’m calling that a success and moving on. Big thanks to Tiffany at SITS for believing I had the chops to pull this off.

6th Street Austin live music

Check it off! Here's the proof we were there. Note: it was decided definitively at our table: Eric Clapton is a guitar god

Saturday night, I got to pay Savannah back for her sacrifice of spending 72 uninterrupted hours with me. (A task most would not dare undertake.) Item #74 on her Life List: Stumble into a really good concert in Austin. I don’t know if I would call it really good concert, but we went down to 6th Street and found live music with two new friends we made. She leaned over to me while we were doing the hand jive with a fantastic grin and said, “I’m really happy!” I was too. It. was. fabulous.

Arkansas storm radarApparently the state of Arkansas felt we had been unfaithful to her and greeted us with a nasty storm at the state line Sunday evening. We were forced to stop in Texarkana to wait for the worst of it to pass. We needed to eat and see a TV. The only option we could find was Hooters. You read that right. Well, technically, we could have gone to a place called the Fuzzy Taco, but Savannah was all, “I have standards!”

The moment we entered, I needed a drink. Savannah wanted to hug the waitresses and life coach them into better jobs. She’s a better person than me. I wasn’t really surprised this wasn’t my kind of bar, but really, our waitress had never even HEARD of Maker’s Mark. I had a Jack and Coke instead. Actually, Pepsi. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

QR code on Hooter's Menu

They had no Coke products and an absurb food substituion policy akin to 3-card Monty, but they had a QR code for the 2011 Hooter's calendar. It was baffling.

With the help of some friends on Twitter watching radars in Little Rock and us watching in Texarkana, we were able to find a break in the weather and get the rest of the way home with minimal hail, if maximum nervousness.

I’m so glad I had a friend along for the ride (and about half the driving). I really glad it was Savannah because she didn’t flip out about my lack of planning for this adventure. I came home with terrific plans for a new blog with her (some of you will be recruited for help), lots of information to improve this blog and a terrible ear infection. The universe demands balance.

14 Comments

Filed under The view from here

14 responses to “Austin, Life Lists & Hooters

  1. David

    Love it! Next year post video of your speech.

  2. David

    Also post video of your next visit to Texarkana Hooters. Just to be thorough and stuff.

  3. I want to road trip with you!!

    I love Hooters….those girls make me feel smart.

  4. The #HMX Twitter thread was the most entertaining thing I read all weekend. Thanks for taking us along for the ride!

  5. FYI, you did totally rock it. Just so you know.

  6. Thank you so much for sharing your time and knowledge with us! I’m happy I found your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Luke Morris

    As long as I live close enough one of my goals is to head to Austin for Austin City Limits or SXSW (music more, but interactive would also be cool).

  8. I really enjoyed your talk and I REALLY like the name of your blog. Glad to have found you through BBC. And yes, you did rock it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Thanks again for speaking, Kerri! Your info was right on.

    I am so jealous of your 6th street trip- we headed down Sunday morning and found the Holy Grail of pizza. Seriously, I almost left my husband and son to marry the owner.

    Hope you are feeling better!

    T

  10. Amy

    I was there and you did indeed rock it!

    I’m glad to hear you made a great weekend of it!!

  11. Loved meeting you and hearing you speak….crap, that wasn’t a complete sentence.

  12. Ash

    Egad – Jack and Pepsi and an ear infection? Oh what a trouper you are.

    And you did totally rock, honest. Funny and engaging. Thanks for all the great information.

  13. You passed up a Fuzzy Taco???? Girl, you just don’t know what you’re missing there!

    Loved your talk, by the way!

  14. Pingback: Southern Girl Academy Wrap Party | Damn You, Little Rock