Room with No Name

Our house was built  about 50 years ago when open floor plans were not the rage they are today. The room built to be the dining room is rather small. The house also has a front room that was originally built to be a formal living space. I didn’t like that arrangement. Since someone along the way built a sun porch that we use as another living area, I decided to make the front room the formal dining area (or as formal as we’re ever gonna be) so we would at least use that square footage from time to time.

the room with no name

This decision left us with an empty smallish room between the kitchen and “new” dining room. We don’t know what to call it. It’s been referred to as the library because I put a couple of bookshelves in there, the smoking room because we think we’re funny, the bar because we store liquor in the built-in shelves, and more often than not “in there” or the “dining room that’s not the dining room anymore.” Baby Daddy pushed hard for sitting room, but lost when I pointed out there’s no furniture in there.

 

Kelli's formerly big, blank wall

The room with no name also has a big blank wall in it. Yes, we’ve lived here 10 months. Yes, I’m just now getting around to decorating my house. Sadly, this is an improvement. We lived in the last house for more than two years before I hung anything on the walls. But filling a big space is not exactly easy. I was really stuck on what to do when my friend Kelli decided to do the 48 Hour Film Festival. I loaned her team a child’s giraffe costume I have. When I delivered the costume, I saw what she did with her formerly big, blank walls. I loved it. So I decided to rip off the idea. Because I’m awesome like that.

 

The first step I did back in January, which was paint the walls green or as I like to say: not cornea searing blue.

I picked a bunch of frames at the dollar store. I selected a variety of sizes and shapes. Since I planned to paint them I focused on frames with interesting textures. Baby Daddy might have been right that the decision to paint them indoors on the sun porch was probably not a good one. The fumes were bad.

We considered replacing the fabric in the bar doors with glass, but ultimately just removed the doors to showcase my glassware habit.

My glassware habit. That's not even all of it. Right now, you're thinking it's a really good thing I don't collect spoons, aren't ya?

I hung the frames. I feel about this the way I feel about most projects: I'm going to stop now. Not sure if it's ever actually finished.

We’re taking suggestions for a name for the room. Fred is taken. He’s the houseplant. Other than that, we’re open. Of course, some furniture for this room would be awesome. That could take another 10 months for me to decide what to do about that.

6 Comments

Filed under The PsychoCrafter

6 responses to “Room with No Name

  1. berit

    gus. definitely gus.

  2. Looks great! Glad I could inspire you. Funny, I got my idea from Liz originally (I blogged about it here: http://kelli-marksthespot.blogspot.com/2009/11/inspired-by-liz.html)
    I love how an idea can evolve and you can put your own personal touch on it!
    Also, I envy your glass collection. We don’t drink much but are slowly becoming more of a party place, so I’ve acquired a few wine glasses, but I need more.

  3. Connie Weiss

    I think we need to start a support group for Glassware Addictions…because I have one too.

    Love what you’ve done with the place. Since the booze and glasses live in that room…I think you should call it the bar.

  4. Ty

    Hmmm . . . a “small” room between the kitchen and dining room? I think you could refer to it as a HUGE butler’s pantry.

  5. The Weird Room.

    (Remember the third news block…between weather and sports…that no one knew exactly what to do with? Whatley dubbed it “The Weird Segment” and afterward we always referred to it as such)

  6. I too have the delayed decorating disease.
    I still have a photo project in mind I haven’t completed. I’ve been here WAY too long not to have finished.

    Although, I feel somewhat cavalier about the entire thing, taking a note from ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ “..then I’d buy some real furniture and give the cat a name!”
    (note: for some time I also had an unnamed cat)

    Everything we do is a work in progress. In fact, I’m not sure how I’d feel when I hit the moment of ‘finished’