Daily Prayer

I don’t know if it’s the change of season or back-to-school or a caffeine/ cookie shortage in this town, but I’ve noticed several friends lately feeling bad about themselves. They’re questioning if they’re failing their friends, family, the world… Lord knows I do on a daily basis.

Several years ago my dear friend Jill told me about her daily prayers. When I can remember them, they help me a lot when I’m beating myself up.

Morning:
God,
Make me a better wife, a better mother, daughter, sister, employee, friend and neighbor. Give me grace today.
Amen

Night:
Well, God,
There’s always tomorrow.

She told me, “I believe there’s value in trying to be better today than you were yesterday. I believe sometimes trying is all you can do. Kiss and hug those you love. Say you’re sorry when you’re wrong. Pick yourself up and do it again tomorrow.”

Amen.

5 Comments

Filed under The view from here

5 responses to “Daily Prayer

  1. Love this, Kerri. Thanks for sharing.

  2. What is the deal right now? I’m itchy with the desire to change. Maybe it is the seasons. I cut of my hair and it didn’t squelch the urge for change.
    At the same time it makes me feel, wrong? That’s not the word, unsettled, perhaps? Either way, this prayer will be on my lips- minus the mom part.

  3. Oh, I needed this today. A thousand thanks.

  4. I’ll add my Amen to this as well. Too often and sometimes not frequently enough I find myself with similar words

    Lord, it’s me. I screwed up again. I’m really glad your mercy has no end. Don’t give up on me yet.

  5. Pingback: A Spiritual Journey – With a little help from my friends…