Fire It Up

I set myself on fire and people come to watch me burn. ~John Wesley

Blogging Ladies: Jennifer, Me, Amy, Kyran

I’m certain John Wesley couldn’t have even fathomed the modern notion of personal blogging when he described how he drew a crowd to his open air sermons in London during the 18th Century. But it’s possibly the best description of blog writing I have heard.

Certainly some people are preaching a similar gospel to Wesley on their blogs, but most are simply using the fire of the Internet to tell their unique stories: of their professions, their families, themselves, their path through this life.

We are a species that needs and wants to understand who we are. Sheep lice do not seem to share this longing, which is one reason they write so little. ~Anne Lamott

Beautiful Hilary daydreaming for a moment

I partied like a rockstar on a downtown rooftop last night with an amazing group of women bloggers. A dear friend, Kyran, put together a CheeseburgHer – Little Rock party in conjunction with BlogHer 2010. I knew many of the women there already. I met some new ones. They are all easy to like instantly. We all have a lot of words. We all live out loud to some degree. We all want to be heard, both figuratively and literally, which is to say, it was a little bit loud. Please, there was wine, cheeseburgers and gorgeous women, it wasn’t going to be a quiet gathering. Full Disclosure: I was a big part of the loudness/ troublemaking/ potstirring section of the party.

Happy Birthday Amy!

We also did the most important thing a group of people can at a gathering: we celebrated life, specifically the birth of our friend Amy. I brought what had to be the most sparkle fabulous disaster of a cupcake cake I have ever seen. She loved it. Who could not a love something that awful?

the rockettes totally missed out on us

While we have all figuratively lit ourselves up, in what can be attributed to odd camerawork and poorly placed candles, Amy and my shenanigans appear to be about to light me up FO REAL! Now that’s HAUTE!

Thanks to all who made the party possible, most especially Kyran. (and for letting me swipe her party pics) Also, Middle Sister Wines, Bath Junkie, and Clutter Diet.

10 Comments

Filed under The view from here

10 responses to “Fire It Up

  1. You may be the only woman I know who can shoot fire out of her hoo-ha. Love ya and had an AWESOME time at LR’s CheeseburgHer party last night. It’s good anytime I get to hang out with a bunch of “my people.”

  2. Great to meet you last night and look forward to following your blog. You crack me up.

  3. In case I haven’t told you enough times today via enough other forms of media… I love you!

  4. Kelli

    I am so sad that I missed this! Looks like you guys had a blast.

  5. Great to meet ya! It’s neat to finally put faces to blogs!

  6. I had a great time, and looking forward to the next. That picture is priceless. When people doubt your abilities, show them that picture and tell them you have skills!

  7. Fire. Crotch.
    (It had to be said)

  8. I read this while I was in Texas and kept it, meaning to come back and comment…what can I say except I am wildly jealous? Looks like y’all had a GREAT time. Like I knew you would. Can’t wait til next time!