Clutter, Crystal Light & Cursing

Several months ago, a friend and I were talking and she was telling me about her mission to de-clutter her life. She started with calendar clutter: what’s on my schedule that shouldn’t be? Then she moved on to physical clutter: what’s in my home that doesn’t need to be here? The idea is that one of the things that makes us inefficient in our lives and keeps us from doing what we ought to, is various kinds of clutter. I’ve decided this makes as much sense as anything else I’ve ever heard, so I’m giving it a try.

I am doing my best to keep my calendar from filling up. I could easily spend every day lunching with fabulous ladies, and I certainly have already and intend to do some more of that, but I don’t think that’s entirely what my time should be spent doing. Until I figure out the whole what-I’m-gonna-do-with-my-life, I’m getting rid of the physical clutter in this house. I’m going room by room cleaning out, throwing away, donating, getting rid of, until this house is clean and organized.

Edamame Salad

I’m also working out again and cooking. If my culinary attempts don’t cause weight loss around here, nothing will. The plan is to whip the house and the bodies living here into shape. Today’s tasks: 35 minutes on the elliptical (I know it’s pathetic; I’m building up stamina) and perform a toy purge in the play room. I swore at anything that would stand still during the work out. I’m finding I have a tendency toward violence while sweating. Good thing I’m home alone during this time. A friend suggested cardio boxing might be a good idea. I think yoga could do me some good. Either way, if you ever get a threatening email from me, no worries, I was probably just jogging at the time.

My friend Stephanie is in town, and on the promise of lemonade, came over to keep my company for what she calls my “toy bulimia: buying new toys for Monkey Boy just to turn around and get rid of others.” She makes a fair point that I will address later in my life. Today was not about my shopping habits.

Apparently she has similar rage issues where puzzles are concerned. Granted, it was probably my fault. I wanted her to put together a Precious Moments puzzle so I could see if there were any missing pieces. She asked if she could just count them. I said no. Of course, there was a missing piece. She didn’t exactly take that discovery well.

Maybe we’ll both go to yoga soon.

5 Comments

Filed under The view from here

5 responses to “Clutter, Crystal Light & Cursing

  1. I do love yoga, but it hasn’t stopped me from cursing yet.

  2. After riding in the car with me last week, my mom suggested I look into yoga.

  3. Mama

    I heard there was laughing Yoga. I want to do that.

  4. Yoga… you might need something a bit stronger.

  5. I’ve tried transcendental meditation, bikram yoga and therapy. Yet that puzzle piece haunts me.