Worry Warts

My friends are worried about me.

I know because they so carefully avoid the subject of my unemployment when they invite me to breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks, coffee, play dates… anything to help me fill my loads of unfilled time. They are worried. I’m eating a lot of donuts because of it.

I’ve left them with a lot of unanswered questions: What will happen to the workaholic without a job? Will she go completely round the bend? Will she become some weird version of Susie Homemaker? Will she annoy us? Will she be ok? Should we hate her? Should we feel sorry for her? Will she really be ok? How much is she totally going to annoy us? She did not open a Twitter account for Monkey Boy? She’s at least sort of ok, right?

The answers: Yes. No. Maybe. I don’t know. Diet Coke. Tomatoes and basil.

And it’s alright for now.

I was embarrassed to tell people I lost my job. I should have trusted my friends more. They really are amazing, but they worry far too much. So stop it already. It’s bad for your digestion.

And we have a LOT of meals scheduled.

5 Comments

Filed under The view from here

5 responses to “Worry Warts

  1. I’m glad you’re doing OK. And as I am unemployed for the time being, I’m always down to help you fill your loads of free time.

  2. Oh! I just noticed something exciting! You can now move me from the View from Afar to LR Neighbors! Yay!

  3. Jill Hartsfield

    Can’t help it. We just want everything to be okay, and if it’s not, we want to fix it (or stuff it good food!) Just considered yourself overly loved for the time being and enjoy.

  4. In the meantime, I may hire you to be my PA. How are your cooking and cleaning skills? Can you handle my children?

    I pay in whiskey.

    And if you’d get an iPhone, you could stay busy playing Words With Friends.

  5. I have faith – you will be fine! Just enjoy this time before diving back into the craziness (mine extends to the home, but you know what I mean) of the outside world. And, that donut looks delicious!