Patience

Paige's Baptism

My niece was baptized today. We went to Russellville to be there. It was beautiful: both new and nostalgic at the same time. My sister, my dad and I were all baptized in that church. While we remembered generations before her, it’s new to her and this is her individual life path. Her great-grandmother, grandparents, aunt, uncle, cousins and a community who dearly loves her rejoiced. Of course, my mother cried.

Side note: as far as nostalgia goes, there are a group of women from that church who have looked exactly the same my entire life. They don’t age. At All. My Dad says they’ve looked that way all his life too. I know they’re not having surgery. They just have good genes. Or they drank the potion.

I wasn’t really all that interested in the sermon. I got what I came for: my nice warm feeling. The preacher who baptized me is still there. He spoke on patience. Why couldn’t he speak on something I’ve got down? I’m good at some stuff. I didn’t want to have to learn anything today. But there he went anyway.

James 5: 7 Be patient, then, brothers, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop and how patient he is for the autumn and spring rains.

Of course, it ties perfectly into what I’ve been reading and thinking about lately. Here’s the lesson again: wait. But this one brought home a finer point. Yes, I am to wait, but while I’m waiting for my “crops,” I am to tend to the land, pull the weeds, water the seeds; it’s an active waiting. Thankfully, this is a better scenario for me than just sitting around.

More good news for me: when James speaks of the Lord’s coming, he’s not writing about the 2nd coming, which was apparently a subject of much discussion and speculation at the time of this letter. According to the pastor, (I’m taking his word he knows what he’s talking about here since I’m not a Greek scholar and this happens to fit nicely into the point I’d like to make)  the Greek word “coming” used here refers to the presence of God within us. If we pray, meditate, study and are patient, then the presence of God in us will make itself known to us. We don’t have to wait for something external to happen at some unknown time in the future. He writes, that’s really not the point at all.

This is encouraging. My waiting and patience now has a plan of action. I still don’t get to know every outcome. Maybe all that farming will lead to something; maybe not. But I do my part, take care of what I can control and pray with patience for the rest.

Also, it’s still a sin to swear at other drivers in traffic. Sorry, couldn’t work my way out of that one.

2 Comments

Filed under The view from here

2 responses to “Patience

  1. Diane Cornett

    i am reading your blog-and this from someone who didn’t even know what a blog was last week. i worked with your mom and bob at social security and so i sort of followed you and jamie growing up. you girls are precious and it is so delightful to get to read your insights. thank you for letting us share this. keep writing lots of us are enjoying and following you still this way.

  2. Pingback: Creative Sabbatical « Damn You, Little Rock