Enough

My friend Sarabeth (who seems to inspire a lot of blog posts) wrote about the voice in her head who likes to tell her she’s not enough. I have several of those. The broken record of my teen years gets cranked up and boy howdy! I can throw a pity party like nobody’s business.

Ronya with her youngest son

A few weeks ago, I was about to make a client presentation and was feeling uncertain of myself. You know those moments when the right person says the perfect thing? I had one.

My friend Ronya sent me the brilliant words of Marianne Williamson (I mistakenly thought they were the words of Nelson Mandela). It was exactly what needed to put my shoulders back and hold my head high. So now I give them to you because you never know when you might need them. (bolding is for my emphasis):

Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate,
but that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us.
We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant,
gorgeous, handsome, talented and fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking
so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God within us.
It is not just in some; it is in everyone.

And, as we let our own light shine, we consciously give
other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our fear,
our presence automatically liberates others.

~Marianne Williamson

6 Comments

Filed under Words of Wisdom

6 responses to “Enough

  1. I hate to be “that girl” but Nelson Mandela didn’t actually coin this. It’s from a poem by Marianne Williamson that is widely misattributed to Mandela.

  2. I wiki’d it: Williamson has said: “As honored as I would be had President Mandela quoted my words, indeed he did not. I have no idea where that story came from, but I am gratified that the paragraph has come to mean so much to so many people.”

  3. onespy

    Very inspirational. Ronya is quite the friend to give you that quote.

  4. onespy

    Where the quote came from is not the point.