One of those days

Did you ever have one of those days that was just… good? Could you stand back, take a deep breath and think, “This is a good life.” We had one of those days. There were no fireworks or marching bands, although there was a bicycle bell, mostly there was just happiness of place.

Argenta Market

Yesterday began a little later than I expected. Baby Daddy let me sleep in, which, let’s be honest, is how any good day begins. Monkey Boy and I got around and went to the Argenta Farmer’s market to pick up our weekly order. This was a particularly fun week to be in downtown North Little Rock because the new, much-anticipated Argenta Market was open. It’s an amazing grocery. Even more exciting is it’s gathering folks from the area in a movement to eat local and know the farmers who produce their food. We were thrilled to bump into friends we hadn’t seen in a while. Monkey Boy and his buddy from a previous school were reunited and within minutes on the floor playing with cars. No, that’s not gross at all.

While we were out local food shopping, Katy Kat sent me a message with good news from her college. We couldn’t be more thrilled she was accepted into her major program of choice. Well, maybe we could be. She was reportedly screaming and dancing around the shop where she works on the weekends. If you were trying to buy children’s clothes this weekend and the clerk was particularly giddy, she was not high, just happy.

Because we like irony, we dropped off our locally grown, healthy food at the house and met Baby Daddy for lunch at McDonald’s. While we were waiting in line, a pizza delivery man brought five pies to the employees. I guess having grown tired of their own grease, the were craving someone else’s grease. This, however, did not deter us in our personal quest for fries and cheeseburgers.

All of this food was merely the fuel up for the day’s main event: Monkey Boy’s first bike! Now that the weather is nice, every Thursday, his school has bike day. This past Thursday, one of the other kids brought a Lightning McQueen bike. Monkey Boy was smitten. He fell head over heels in lust with that bike. He needed that bike. He absolutely had to have it. He launched a campaign to convince me to get him that bike. By campaign, I mean, he asked me for the bike every single time the thought of it popped into his head, which was about 68 times per minute while awake. Baby Daddy looked at me as though I had denied the child food or water and said, “That boy needs a bike.” I’m not sure how anyone decided I was the hitch in this giddy up, but I had no objections to a bike. I was merely too lazy to ever go get one before.

It was decided that Saturday would be Bike Day! We took Monkey Boy to Target, or as he shouted it to anyone who would stand still long enough, “The Bike Store!” There was a little concern when it came time to put the bike in the cart. He suddenly changed course and declared he wanted a Spider Man bike instead of a Lightning McQueen bike. We are not particularly adept at dealing with the unexpected. So Baby Daddy and I exchanged worried looks, then he said, “We’re getting Lightning.” He grabbed the box, shoved it in the cart and started to chant, “Go! Go! Go!” to me to push the cart out of the aisle, like I was the wheel man in a jewelry heist.

The plan was I would take a nap with Monkey Boy while Baby Daddy put the bike together. But asking a child to nap while his first bike is being assembled on the patio is like asking him to sleep when he KNOWS Santa is in the house. It’s not happening. So I lay beside him in his bed while he told himself knock, knock jokes for an hour (I’m not making that up). Then he finally got his shiny, new bike! To say he was thrilled would be an understatement.

He took his first ride to the elementary school near a block from our house. Baby Daddy and I brought two Blackberries, our regular camera and a Flip camera to document this momentous day. It was announced on Facebook, Twitter and even FourSquare. God forbid, one moment of this child’s life go without electronic documentation. (Now of course, by blog)

It was a good day. Actually, it was a great day. Last night, I put my head on pillow content. My life is good. I have a crazy, beautiful family. I have more than any person deserves. And I am grateful to have had a day to see it. This morning when I woke up, Monkey Boy was standing next to the bed in his pajamas, wearing his bike helmet, “Can I ride my bike, Mom?”

It took a few tries to get down riding in a straight line.

It has a bell.

5 Comments

Filed under Monkey Boy

5 responses to “One of those days

  1. Papaw

    Now that’s what I call a real Big Boy’s Bike. There’s just nothing to compete with a fellow’s first bike. I may be 67, but still remember my first bike. We didn’t get them quite as soon back in the Stone Ages, but they were still mighty special. CONGRATULATIONS Jackson. You done good!!!

  2. What a great day!

    I want to get Alex a bike for his birthday…..

  3. Roby Brock

    This post reminds me of eating fresh, out
    of the oven chocolate chip cookies. A real heartwarmer. He’s not even my kid and I couldn’t be happier to see that irreplaceable smile! What a great day and a great experience!

  4. Misty

    How cute!!!

  5. “I write for my own purposes, the same reason I knit: to keep from stabbing people.”

    How thrilled am I that the woman that wrote that line shops where I work part time? Too good. Glad you’ve had a good experience at the market so far. Looking forward to checking out the rest of your blog!