No Regrets

Edith Piaf

I’ve heard this song a hundred times in movies or other places. It’s always touching, always beautiful, always aches a little bit to hear it. Even though I’ve never understood the language of the lyrics, the mystery of music is I’ve always understood the song.

What a fearless voice Edith Piaf has calling us all to a fearless life in “Je Non Regret Rien” or “No, I Have No Regrets.” My friend asked the other day, “What would life look like if your passion exceeded your fear?” I don’t know the full answer to that question, but I know it would sound like.

I found this English translation: (I have no idea how accurate it is, but is looks good to me, the English only speaker)

No! Absolutely nothing…
No! I regret nothing
Neither the good that I’ve done nor the bad
All this is much the same to me!

No! Absolutely nothing…
No! I regret nothing…
It is paid, swept away, forgotten
I don’t care about the past!

With my souvenirs
I lit a fire
My sorrows, my pleasures
I need them no more!

Swept away the love affairs
With their tremors
Swept away forever
I leave with nothing …

No! Absolutely nothing…
No! I regret nothing
Neither the good that I’ve done nor the bad
All this is much the same to me!

No! Absolutely nothing…
No! I regret nothing…
Because my life, because my joys
Today that begins with you!

1 Comment

Filed under The view from here

One response to “No Regrets

  1. David

    Forgive me for the being the killjoy, but she sounds like a sociopath to me. If we didn’t regret the negative things we did, what keeps us from doing whatever the hell we want? My mistakes and the resulting regret have helped me grow up and become a better human being.

    Furthermore – life is a very serious business … too serious to fritter it away on whims and fancies. Human beings need balance between work and play.