He’s Alive!

I went to church for Easter. It was the first time since Ash Wednesday I’ve been. I was welcomed warmly with big hugs. It was so good to be there. I’ve gone to church all my life. It’s a safe, comfortable place for me. But these church friends at this time in my life are a blessing beyond measure. They love me; they challenge me; they comfort me; they make me laugh; they cry with me; they ask the same hard questions I do; they aren’t afraid to say what they don’t know; they walk this path of faith with me.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to sum up all that I’ve been thinking about through Lent. I’ll work on it this week. For today, my heart is full. Somehow no matter where I am in life, on Easter Sunday I think of Dolly Parton. I’m sure it has to do with my Southern Baptist roots. This song has stuck with me for many years. I get chills every time I hear it.

May you be as blessed as I have been this Easter.

Comments Off on He’s Alive!

Filed under The view from here

Comments are closed.