Ask & You Shall Receive… Mono

As the Lenten season approached, I asked God to help me prioritize my life. What is important? What’s gotta give? The old saw is now ringing in my ears: be careful what you wish for, you just might get it.

I’ve had a virus for a couple of weeks I just cannot shake. I saw the doctor again today. We’re waiting on the blood work to know for sure, but he thinks I have mono. Um, really?! Really.

To be clear, I don’t think God gave me mono for Lent. (I still don’t know for sure that’s what it is, but all signs point that way.) However, sleeping 12-14 hours a day is a really fast way to sort out what absolutely has to get done and what doesn’t.

When I got home from the doctor, I read a friend’s blog who found a video from the Mom 2.o Summit in Houston last weekend. Talk about getting priorities straight:

I’m still not sure how this is all gonna play out long-term, but in the past week, I quit two committees. It was hard to do. I think both of them are really important. I respect the people running those projects so much, and I wanted to participate. Unfortunately, this is not my year to do those things. This is someone else’s time for that.

Because if I am “writing the story of my only life, every single minute of every day,” it’s got to be a good one.

6 Comments

Filed under The view from here

6 responses to “Ask & You Shall Receive… Mono

  1. I hope you get to feeling better soon!

  2. Amy

    I’m sure you realize that in a way you’re lucky. You’ve been given what every mother dreams of — an excuse to sleep and tell people “no!”

  3. saying “no” protects a better “yes”. rest in that, my friend 🙂

  4. ghidotti

    I love the quote from Boots! So very true. I know it’s hard to say no, but sometimes you just have to do it. Hang in there!!

  5. Oh man….feel better soon. It’s so true that sometimes God sends you a message that you need to hear but let’s hope he didn’t give you Mono.

  6. Pingback: Eating My Way Back « Damn You, Little Rock