Rantings of a Sleep Deprived Mom

So I’m sitting there with Monkey Boy and Baby Daddy all curled up on the couch about 5:30 yesterday evening. We’re watching the NFL playoffs and talking about supper. I’m wondering what time Katy Kat will stop by for her Sunday free meal. Then out of nowhere, BOOM! The trailer for Wolfman comes on.

I covered Monkey Boy’s eyes as quickly as I could once I realized, but it was too late. It scared the crap out of my 3-year-old kid. Thanks a heap, guys. He was up most of the night, frightened. And by frightened, I mean shaking and begging me to hold him. Now they’ve gone and messed with the two things in my life that are sacred: my family and my sleep. This was a foolish move.

It’s hard enough to get a good night’s sleep with a 3-year-old boy in the house. The mountain of worry I already face is enough. Come on, really?! Help a mom out!

I will always and forever defend to the ground the right of free speech. I believe Universal has every right to make movies and promote them to get people to watch them. I believe the NFL and FOX have every right to accept advertising from all legal sources to pay for their broadcast. The mistake these groups made was not violating any laws or regulations, but violating expectations.

Right, wrong, fair or unfair, I expect an NFL game to be “safe” TV for my 3-year-old. I expect this because the league constantly tells me how family friendly it is.

I’m no fool; I expect beer ads, trucks, boobs and even some ED ads, which are generally so cryptic as to be funny. But holy cow! I did not expect a movie trailer to completely freak out my kid and honestly, me a little.

If I weren’t so sleep deprived, I would consider organizing some kind of Wolfman boycott, not because it’s a bad film, but for not having the marketing sense to know who its’ prospective audience is. Not only have they violated the expectations of the NFL viewers, they’ve insulted their movie audience by not knowing when to show the ads. I would, if I weren’t so flipping tired from being up most of the night with my terrified kid.

UPDATE: After reading this post, a friend points out, there were in fact, scarier commercials last night. Thank God we missed this one, or there would never be sleep in my house again.

6 Comments

Filed under The view from here

6 responses to “Rantings of a Sleep Deprived Mom

  1. Steph

    I thought the same thing as I covered my 7 year old’s eyes and mine!

  2. Chris Grimmett

    I missed the wolfman trailer, but saw the Wal-Mart ad with the clown, and agree with you idea of a lack of consideration on the part of the person who placed the ad. You stay on their case.

  3. Davud

    I’m curious. What is your take on Janet Jackson’s “wardrobe malfunction” in light of what you just wrote? (Let’s say your kid is age 9 instead of 3).

  4. Jennifer P.

    I agree wholeheartedly. My baseball-fanatic 7-year-old was happily watching a game on ESPN at 1:00 in the AFTERNOON when a trailer for Rob Zombie’s Halloween came on. Scared the bejeezus out of him. I’m not a huge fan of the Parents Television Council, but this was one time when I was furious with ESPN and was thankful that there are groups out there who have the time and energy to try to make sure that most TV is appropriate for kiddos during the hours when they are awake.

  5. Allynson Bell Dale

    We always record everything and watch it delayed so we can fastforward through the commercials. That might help. That commercial scared me!

  6. Jennifer C

    My husband and I went to see Sherlock Holmes a few nights ago. The only other people in the theater brought their 2 (maybe 3?) year old. The Wolfman trailer came on, and all I could think about was that little girl watching those images. The mom just sat there watching and didn’t even bother to cover her daughter’s eyes. None of the trailers—or that movie—were appropriate for kids.

    There were several kids that young in the theater when we went to see New Moon.

    What is wrong with people????