Babies & Breakfast at Tiffany’s

My best friend, Monkey Boy’s Auntie M, is going to have her first child. I’m super excited about it. Mostly because none of the work for this child is mine. I just get to enjoy the good parts but don’t have to deal with the hard stuff. I LOVE being Aunt Kay.

Almost as much fun as being Aunt Kay, is being Aunt Kay who gets to plan a party. I’m thrilled. Of course, there will be a theme. What’s the point of a party without a theme? In college, Auntie M and I watched “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” too many times to count. We love, love, LOVE Audrey Hepburn. So what better theme for a baby brunch than “Breakfast at Tiffany’s?”

The invitations are just too fun. We’ve planned a menu of brunch food and mimosas, cause the rest of us aren’t knocked up, so why should we be punished with no booze? We’ll serve from a table covered in white table cloths with Tiffany blue accents.

But the part that has me super jazzed are the petit fours. I’ve spoken to a cake designer, and they will be in the shape of a Tiffany & Co. box!

The party favors will be also be in Tiffany blue boxes with white ribbons. We’ll fill them with chocolates and plastic costume jewelry of rings and strands of pearls. Instead of a corsage, Auntie M will wear a plastic tiara. (We’re nothing if not classy.)

After weeks of stress, strain and sadness, it’s nice to have something fun to look forward to. Planning this party and thinking about this baby reminded me this is all just the circle of life. I saw it the week Monkey Boy was born when an old friend’s funeral was held the same day we took placement of him. Now I see it again with Granddad and Auntie M’s baby. This is the way it’s supposed to be. We keep investing in the future, so they will remember our past.

I read once that babies were proof that God had not given up on us. I think that’s true. I can’t wait to meet this baby. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Auntie M’s family. I am, again, hopeful.

4 Comments

Filed under The view from here

4 responses to “Babies & Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. I love your plans for the party…very classy 😉 And you’re totally right about the circle of life…sadness vs happiness. ((HUGS))

  2. What a great idea for a party! My son is in love with Breakfast at Tiffany’s and asks to watch it at least once a week!

  3. Ok. I’m moving to Little Rock in May/June and sometime after that, I’m sure I’ll be having a kid at some point. Someone better throw me this exact same party. I have a gilt-framed picture of Audrey on the wall in my house.