It’s the Wonderful (or at least not terrible) Parts of Christmas

In a development that is not at all surprising, I have been accused of passing on poor values to Monkey Boy for, among other infractions, failing to waller around in Christmas garland. To most critics, I offer the simple explanation of: Bite Me.

However I think it’s only fair to say, I do believe this holiday has three redeeming qualities. Since lists seem to be appropriate for the season, and again, it’s my blog so I can do whatever I want, here’s the 3 reasons the Christmas season hasn’t yet killed me.

Juud Family Ganeshe

1) Absurdity: There is something about the holiday season between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day that causes people to just get silly. I am not referencing poor, often career limiting, decisions made at company Holiday parties. I mean people being overcome with an unconventional Christmas spirit that has no clear basis in logic. I like it. I like it a lot.

2) Cards: I actually really like Christmas cards. I like getting them and sending them. I like the creativity that goes into these expressions of kindness. (Yes, I have some of both creativity and kindness in me.) I also like the Christmas Card competition that exists pretty much only in my mind. Whoever gets their cards out first, wins! It’s important to clarify that there are rules to this contest, as all civilized societal activities demand. Cards cannot go out before December 1. That’s a false start in clear violation of the calendar order of holidays. All cards must have some hand written component to them. So you cannot slap printed address labels on your printed cards and call it good. All cards must somewhere have YOUR NAME on them. One would think this was learned in primary school, but not so much. I couldn’t care less what salutation they bring: Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanza, Happy Holidays, whatever makes your heart happy, send it. I’ll receive it with gratitude.

3) Selected Movies: There are two Christmas movies, which have become part of the tradition for our family and I like them. I watch Miracle on 34th Street the day after Thanksgiving. I watch It’s a Wonderful Life on Christmas Eve. Somewhere in the middle, I try to work in White Christmas and Christmas Story, but they are not required viewing. These movies generally make me feel good about my life, which keeps me from hanging people by tinsel when they criticize how little faux Christmas spirit I bring into my home.

For genuine Christmas spirit, you need hot chocolate, George Bailey, Zu Zu’s petals and a bell ringing because Clarence got his wings.

And a leg lamp never hurts.

10 Comments

Filed under The view from here

10 responses to “It’s the Wonderful (or at least not terrible) Parts of Christmas

  1. It is absurd… and illogical… the Christmas spirit thing, but I like it too. Yes, I like it quite a lot. I used to adore the holiday season. Not so much anymore. I’ve been very “Bah! Humbug!” the last few years and come dangerously close to stringing up a number of individuals with tinsel. Alas! Oh… my required Christmas movie viewing: White Christmas & Love Actually. I haven’t seen Miracle on 34th Street or It’s a Wonderful Life in probably 10+ years.

  2. It’s not just you. I’m in on the Christmas card derby too. I like doing it b/c I hate it when I have to reflex card people. I like to make people reflex card me, you know when they get yours and are all like dammit, now I have to send her one. Yep. You do! I’ve been thwarted this year b/c my printer is taking 4eva to mail them to me. Should been in the mail already…drat! So, does your card feature a picture? Did you take it yourself? Do you have, outakes? Because if so then you should really be entering it in my contest. May the worst photo win!

  3. Amy

    It will be a cold day in Happy Holiday Hell when you get a Christmas card from me.

  4. I love the leg lamp. My friend has one in her front window.

  5. The title of my newest blog post is bah hum bug! I can’t stand the retail side of Christmas either and you speak my feelings so well.

  6. I like your explanation of “Bite Me”.

    Also? I suspect that the only reason I ever got Christmas cards is because I sent them. Well, I’m not sending them this year and so far I’ve only received 1, maybe 2 cards. Which is only proving my point.

  7. Pingback: Irregular Activity « Damn You, Little Rock

  8. christmas time is coming again and i would be sending christmas cards to many of my friends*:~

  9. Pingback: Treehouse Christmas Card Photo Shoot | Damn You, Little Rock