Seasonal Addiction Disorder

It started about 3 years ago. I never meant for it to go as far as it did. At first, it was just for special occasions, but then I was hooked. I had to have it. every. day. Now, the Pumpkin Spice latte from Starbucks owns me. Every fall, I crave football, sweaters and some pumpkin spice. The calories totally wreck whatever diet plan I’m on. And paying that much for coffee every morning is just silly. But I don’t care because I. need. it. I have come to believe there is crack or heroine or some such ingredient in this coffee. I have become a functional latte-holic.

daily fix: Venti Pumpkin Spice latte

daily fix: Venti Pumpkin Spice latte

Today a friend told me that Cupcakes on Kavanaugh has a pumpkin spice cupcake. God help me. I cannot darken that door, or I will be strung out on baked goods before daylight savings time is over. I’ll be in bakery rehab talking about my childhood and how my mother denied me twinkies. I’ll have to confront all those I hurt in my quest for more and better cookies and cupcakes. It will be a sad state of affairs. I must resist.

One addiction per season is sufficient. I’ve got mine.

4 Comments

Filed under The view from here

4 responses to “Seasonal Addiction Disorder

  1. I just got some pumpkin spice k-cups for my Keurig. $10 for 18. Much cheaper.

  2. What time does that rehab group start? Maybe we could have a “fall addict’s” support group!! And I don’t care if it’s anonymous! Love the inspiration to FALL… gotta go, I’m heading to the BUCK to get some pumpkin cake…

  3. I’m lucky that Starbucks is so far away or I would be there everyday….

  4. Pingback: Style Me Pretty Obsessed « Damn You, Little Rock