Book Nerd

When I was young, I basically ruined my eyesight by reading by the closet light. I would stay up late at night reading books. It’s ok to call me a nerd. That would be fair. That’s probably why tonight was so great for me. The Little Rock Tweetup was a Twestival! For the first time Little Rock charged admission: 10 bucks and a book. These books will be given to Reach Out and Read.

It’s hard to put into words what books and words have meant to me in my life. They are essentially everything to me. I make a living with words and have been profoundly impacted by others’ words. Beautiful words, well spoken; a good story, well told; these are the things that change lives, hearts and the world.

To quote a friend, I’m so proud that Little Rock Tweetups are about more than fancy drinks. I’m so proud of our town for trying to change the world, one book at a time.

1 Comment

Filed under The view from here

One response to “Book Nerd

  1. I too am a compulsive reader. My teacher’s used to have to confiscate my library books so I would do my schoolwork. I can’t imagine what my life would be like without books. I usually read 4 or 5 at a time – one in each room of the house and a few magazines here and there. I just bought a Kindle and that thing is the coolest ever! See you at SITScation!