48 Hour Film Festival: Team Argenta

This weekend I was a writer on Team Argenta in the 48 Hour Film Project: Little Rock. I had such a good time. We made a 6 minute film is 48 hours. Our team was one of 28 competing in this year’s project.

The hospitality of the neighborhood was unbelievable. We were fed excellent food, worked in donated space, filmed in people’s homes, and generally given the run of the place. Most of the people there didn’t even seem to mind that I spent the better part of Saturday walking around in pajamas and rain boots.

Thank you is not enough for kindness extended to us. Our team’s leader and film’s producer Tim Vahsholtz is to be commended for putting together such a great project. Our film will screen August 11th at Riverdale Cinema at 7 p.m. After that, it will posted on youtube.com and I will link to it. Until then, here are some photos of the weekend.

In the meantime, I have chronicled the Tweets from myself and others during the film making process. It’s easy to see when the tiredness set in and we just got slap happy. But we really did enjoy each other’s company.

Key:
kerrijack – me
shutterthat – Tim Vahsholtz
teamargenta – twitter account for the team run by Tim Vahsholtz and Adam Beirheit
adambittheapple – Adam Beirheit

1:10 AM Jul 31st
adambittheapple

Seriously, if you don’t follow @TeamArgenta during the #48hfp this weekend, Santa is going to bring you many lumps of coal for Christmas.

5:29 PM Jul 31st
kerrijack
Going to @teamargenta 48 Hour Film Festival HQ in a few. This should be tons of fun. Here’s hoping I don’t ruin their chances at film glory!

6:00 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta
Sitting at Riverdale theater waiting for things to start up. The excitement builds…..

6:06 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta
Being fed information and goodie bags…

6:08 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta

There is a terribly weird sound coming from the sound system in here.

6:10 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta

Lots and lots of paperwork.

7:08 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta

Alright, our genre is Drama… And off we go! Time to get the creative juices flowing!

8:11 PM Jul 31st
kerrijack
Someone just said to me, “You can be the smart one!” I almost snarfed water out my nose.

8:43 PM Jul 31st
kerrijack

Was just told not to make a scene by @shutterthat. Has he met me?

9:52 PM Jul 31st
kerrijack

lobbying hard to get the name “Monkey Boy” incorporated into the script

10:42 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta

Creative folks doing what they do best.

10:47 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta

Our team t-shirts. Thanks to all our sponsors!!

10:48 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta

Front corner of our team t-shirts.

11:52 PM Jul 31st
teamargenta

“I’ve got some ice water. You can have some of that. It’s good. It’s ice….. Well, it’s ice water.”

1:34 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

@teamargenta is starting to seriously question my presence here

1:35 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

@shutterthat just said to me, “do you realize that in these photos of the evening, you’re the only one waving their arms?”

1:37 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

open mockery has ensued @teamargenta. it’s getting late.

1:37 AM Aug 1st
teamargenta

The drink of champions!

2:02 AM Aug 1st
teamargenta

I wonder how many other #48hfp teams are *actually* still up working on their masterpieces…..

2:03 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

@adambittheapple gave me a coolness point for knowing my muppets

2:07 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Are WE *actually* working?

6:27 AM Aug 1st
teamargenta

1.5 hours of sleep and crew call at 6am. Sure, I can do that. 🙂

6:58 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

@teamargenta, someone tell @shutterthat to check his email. some dialogue came to me in a dream. I’m not making that up. I sent it to him.

7:36 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Running 1.5 hours late for call time @teamargenta. Will anyone notice?

9:32 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

On location for @teamargenta. Wearing my glamorous rain boots. Let someone mock me today.

9:38 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

@shutterthat has promised more mocking soon. Goody!

9:45 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

@shutterthat wants a current script. Wait! We were supposed to write this down?! Aww man!

10:00 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

@shutterthat now wants crime fighting hamsters. Where will I find those?!

10:37 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Quote of the day so far. Actress: if you think this dress is too booby, I can totally take off the bra.

11:12 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Runner up for quote of the day so far. Another actress: I think I’m gettin a husband today.

11:24 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Was just told by photog that writers can shut it during production.

11:37 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

I think the duck feet work! Have you seen the weather?

11:48 AM Aug 1st
kerrijack

My current job is shadow. As in, stand there and block that light.

12:01 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

I tweet without comment. Actor: tonight you’re a star and I’m the big dipper. *silence* That was Prince y’all.

12:40 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Me to the man who found me coffee: if I weren’t a married woman, I’d French kiss you. Man: if I weren’t gay, I’d enjoy it.

1:03 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

What are the rules about napping on set? do shadows get mandatory breaks?

1:19 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Been promoted to set dresser. Would have been helpful if I’d paid attention when my mom tried to teach me to set the table.

1:59 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Was sent to quiet an unruly toddler. I fixed his wagon! #meanoldladycase

6:16 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Had to peel off from @teamargenta for awhile this afternoon. #mommycasedutycalls

8:13 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Contender for quote of day: ever since I accidentally stormed into his apartment, there is a code to get onto the 3rd floor.

8:24 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Shooting the last scene at Club G Nab

8:34 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Me: this is not that kind of establishment. Other writer: that’s not what the sign on the door said.

8:53 PM Aug 1st
teamargenta

Way to work all our zingers into the script, Kerri! (but “northern aggression isn’t mine.)

8:56 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Between takes at Club G Nab

8:57 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

That’s my line! RT @shutterthat Here’s my fab quote of the day… “if you’ve got the fix I need, I’m easy.”. Back to shooting at Club G Nab.

9:01 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

And that’s a wrap! On to post production…

9:11 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Another quote contender: when the apocalypse comes, you’re going to need me, because I know the old ways.

10:42 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

We seem to have lost the editor. That doesn’t seem like an expendable person.

11:09 PM Aug 1st
kerrijack

Home. Going to actually get sleep tonight, which is bragging on my part since post production crew won’t. #tweetfromdriveway

2:44 AM Aug 2nd
teamargenta

Editor found. Batch digitizing. Tired as hell. Laughing at outtakes!

7:44 PM Aug 2nd
teamargenta

Deadline met. Spirits are high. Adult beverages will be consumed. #48hfp

8:05 PM Aug 2nd
kerrijack

The DVD of our movie has arrived at creegan’s. Viewing soon!

9:44 PM Aug 2nd
kerrijack

Basking in the glory of our film. They laughed in all the right places.

11:04 PM Aug 2nd
kerrijack

Me to editor: I think it’s good I wasn’t there because I would have argued with you. Editor: no, I would have thrown you out

11:08 PM Aug 2nd
kerrijack

Big thanks to Argenta for their hospitality this weekend. What a great neighborhood and fabu people!

11:53 PM Aug 2nd
teamargenta

Backup copy of film finished and delivered eight minutes before deadline. Main copy of film arrived 2 minutes til. Thx to ALL!!

12:51 AM Aug 3rd
adambittheapple

Want to tweet more about @TeamArgent & #48hfp, but as many people in LR tonight will understand….my brain is feeling very mushy. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under The view from here

One response to “48 Hour Film Festival: Team Argenta

  1. Glenna James

    I tried to link to the photos but I kept going to my inbox on facebook