Dancing Christians

For a brief period in my life, my parents decided Baptist high school would be a good place for me. We did not have dances, only banquets. Those people about banqueted me to death. I mention this to explain that I have genuine empathy for the repression the the students of John Brown University in Siloam Springs must feel. Today comes the news they are wildly celebrating the announcement they have finally been allowed to hold a dance.

Enthusiasm aside, my question is this: Why do you still want to have a dance in college? I have no memory of going to dances in college. There was no crate paper, no balloons, no sequence or poorly-fitted suits. This was all over in high school.

There comes a point in your life when you have to let go of the fact that you didn’t get to have the teenage years that you wanted.  If your parents didn’t let you go to the prom, you need to get over this. Trying to make up for it when you’re 21 doesn’t make you hip, it makes you pitiful.

Also, white girls in the South shouldn’t try to dance past the age of 18. You can get away with it when you’re young and foolish and still wearing a cheerleader uniform. After that,  you just look odd. Technically, you probably looked odd prior to that, but it was at least excusably strange.

Comments Off on Dancing Christians

Filed under What's fit to print

Comments are closed.