Sleep

I never fully appreciated the power of sleep. I knew that I liked it more than just about anything. I have long said that waking up in the morning is the hardest thing I do all day long. But to go weeks with sleep interupted by a crying baby made me realize how desperately you need sleep.

The problem with interupted sleep is that it makes my normal absent mindedness worse. I leave perishable food out on the counter. I forget to do things on my to-do list. The topper was the night I was complaining to my beloved husband about how forgetful I had become. We were in the bathroom getting ready for bed and I was about to brush my teeth. I was saying something on the order of how frustrated I was with myself for not being able to pull it together and he said to me, “What are you doing?”

At that moment, I realized that I had his toothbrush in my mouth. Now this is quite a mix-up when you realize that he uses an oral b toothbrush and I use a sponge bob square pants toothbrush.

That is why today goes down as one of the best days in the history of the world. My kid slept through the night for the first time last night! I actually skipped to his room to give him his bottle when he woke up. I was so happy. I felt so good after getting actual, real, all night sleep.

Today is going to be a good day!

1 Comment

Filed under The view from here

One response to “Sleep

  1. Pingback: Come Home | Damn You, Little Rock