Baby Survival Kit

So a group of friends came over last night to help us move furniture, so we can set up the nursery for the coming baby. They very kindly gave up their evening in exchange for cheap pizza and beer, and they broke nothing when laboring for free in my house. I am grateful on both counts.

I have been talking to my friend who is already raising a pretty great toddler about what we're packing when we go pick the kid up from the adoption agency. She asked what was in my "survival kit" and I told her. (Since we have to go to Texas to take placement, we have to have a box of essentials to take with us for the first few days until we can bring him home.) She never seemed all that pleased with my answers but I didn't think too much about it. Most people are not all that pleased with my answers to parenting questions.

Last night, she showed up with a huge box of everything that you could possibly need for a newborn. She said, "The more I talk to you, the more I realize, you don't have a clue what you need. Here you go."

This kid doesn't know it yet, but he hit the jackpot. No matter how bad a mother I may turn out to be, he's got a safety net with my husband and all our friends and family. They are going to make sure that he's taken care of. Maybe the truth is that I hit the jackpot.

Comments Off on Baby Survival Kit

Filed under Monkey Boy, The view from here

Comments are closed.