The spellers apparently don’t know definitions

So let me just say right off the bat, that I am a hideous speller. I admit it. That's why, I've always had just a touch of bitterness about spelling bee kids. Alright, I hate them. They annoy me to no end with their smugness and their letters and their ability to spell out loud and not get lost. Why is the ability to spell so celebrated over all over skills? I can talk faster and longer while saying absolutely nothing than any person on the planet over the age of 14. But they don't hand out medals for that. 

All of this anger has been brought up by the National Spelling Bee that will include its first live prime-time finals. Now seriously, if people are usually watching "Dancing with the Stars" and "American Idol or Dreams" or whatever they're calling it on the network of your choice, then do we really think the spelling bee is going to rack up the ratings points? But I digress. 

According to AP reports, kids in the Scripts NATIONAL Spelling Bee "are almost evenly divided between boys (139) and girls (136) and qualified for the 79th annual bee by winning local contests in the 50 states, as well as in American Samoa, the Bahamas, Canada, Europe, Guam, Jamaica, New Zealand, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands."

If they come from New Zealand, Canada and Europe, then this is not the National Spelling Bee. It's the International Spelling Bee!  And that's how I'm comforting myself. They may string letters together, but they don't know what they mean!

Comments Off on The spellers apparently don’t know definitions

Filed under What's fit to print

Comments are closed.